A Sin Question

Psalm 19:13…Also keep back Your servant from presumptuous sins; Let them not rule over me; Then I will be blameless, And I shall be acquitted of great transgression.

Seeker: Rabbi, What it is a presumptuous sin????? I think I must avoid these.

Rabbi: Ahhh, Yes, my child, they are to be avoided, but what they are often eludes us. A presumptuous sin is one in which we take God for granted. They are usually detected by words like, “Oh Well…”.

Seeker: What do you mean, “Oh, Well”?

Rabbi: When someone says, “Oh, Well, God wants us to be happy”, they may be avoiding the higher calling of being holy, and practicing committed love. It is true that godliness will make a person happy, and joyful, but it is also true that, in this world, selfishness and recklessness also go under the name of happiness.

Seeker: I am starting to see… and if I say, “Oh Well, God will forgive me…”, then I am presuming on his Grace, and taking Him for granted.

Rabbi: Yes, that’s right. It is true that God is wonderfully forgiving, but as Brother Paul has said, (in Romans 6) “What shall we say, then? Shall we go on sinning so that grace may increase? By no means! We are those who have died to sin; how can we live in it any longer? ……….For we know that our old self was crucified with him so that the body ruled by sin might be done away with, that we should no longer be slaves to sin—

Seeker: Wow, in that case, taking love and grace for granted must take (and make) a very hard heart. And, tell me, Rabbi… does taking love and grace honestly and deeply make my heart healthy?

Rabbi: You are becoming wise, my child. This is true.

Seeker: I think I also have sinned presumptuous sins toward other people, too… when I take their love for granted.

Rabbi: So true, also… to love others as we should, we must avoid presumption. For example, when a husband or wife treats their spouse poorly, just because they figure they aren’t going to leave “anyway”, they are committing a presumptuous sin against their spouse and their spouse’s love.

Seeker: Yes, I don’t want my wife to stay with me just because my religion says, “Don’t divorce…”. I want her to stay with me because she is having a blast, because deep attachment needs are being met, and because we don’t take each other’s love for granted.

Rabbi: So, my brother, you are applying this scripture to loving both God and other people. It sounds like the Will of God is being done in Earth as it is in Heaven.

Seeker/Finder: Let it be, so…

About geraldfordcounsel

I encourage people for a living.... By that I mean I am a Minister, a Licensed Professional Counselor, a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist, and a Writer, with a private practice in Sugar Land, Texas. My Office Phone is 281-277-8811
This entry was posted in Biblical Equality (Male-Female), Christian Life, Identity in Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

